Out of the Shadows – Friday Fictioneers

It’s that time again folks! Friday Fictioneers is here, hosted by the lovely Rochelle. All you need is the photo prompt and 100 words of your very own πŸ™‚

This weeks was a great one, thanks to Sandra Crook.

I hope you enjoy my contribution πŸ™‚

Out of the Shadows

Heat rose from the sun-baked cobbles. It was nearly noon and I retreated under the arches.

An old man panted past me. His bicycle wheezed as the wheel squeaked, every fifth of the way round.Β Sweat covered his skin as if he’d been dipped in oil.

I didn’t want him. Too old – too gamey.

Then I saw them.

Lovers, on their way to the Museum of Arts, I expect.Β I stepped out from my hiding place exposing my white hot incisors.

They gasped.

‘You didn’t believe we only came out at night did you?’ Β I smiled. ‘Silly children.’

98 wordsΒ 


 

27 thoughts on “Out of the Shadows – Friday Fictioneers

  1. Great story and beautifully written. I love the detail, eg – dipped in oil. And the one piece of speech, ending in ‘silly children’, which manages to also suggest the vampire’s great age. Brilliant.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Does he sparkle? (Sorry, couldn’t resist…) No, seriously, I love it. There I was, reading and admiring how you place the reader right into the scene, with the sweaty old man and his squeaking bicycle, and coldly you turn it around, insert a steadily growing feeling of threat and finally give us: a vampire.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for reading, I’m glad you enjoyed it πŸ˜€

      You need to register with inlinkz so others will be able to see your story too. You can find the link on Rochelle’s page. Just click on the blue frog and register your email πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

