I know places!

Today is Prompt Day for “Blogging 101”.

We needed to create a post from a prompt on the Daily Post. Mine was; PLACES – Beach, Mountains, forest or somwhere else.

This got me thinking about my ideal place to write.

“A woman must have money and a room of her own if she is to write fiction.”

– Virginia Woolf.

There are many posts about where we writer’s choose to write. But, if you are anything like me, you’re hearing the call to your native land but are financially incapable of owning more than a pencil.

Therefore I have to pretend. Luckily, as a writer and Procrastinator extraordinaire, I am extremely good at this. So here is my IDEAL place to write.

Please feel free to come in…

My vanilla-coloured house nestles between pink and warm malted terraces like a neopolitan. Its bay window opens out onto the quayside. Ropes bounce against the masts of yachts called things like ‘Dreamcatcher’ and ‘The Marianne’. They make a delightful ‘chinking’ melody.

Seagulls zoom through the air. Their signature squawk, like a childs play horn, carries on the air as they look for unsuspecting tourists carelessly eating sandwiches. The scent of seafood drifts through the open window from the fresh fish stand across the harbour. Cockles, salty, with their yellow frill and muscles that seem to still hold an entire beach full of sand when you put them in your mouth. 

The swish of gentle waves lapping at the keels create a kind of lullaby and I close the window – because I’ve got work to do.

I lived in Weymouth when I was a child and my memories of hot summers on the beach, sand sculptures before they were trendy and walks to the ice cream shop at the end of the pier (sadly gone now) still live with me .

I hope to get back there one day (maybe I’ll win the lottery!). But in the meantime when I want to disappear, I put on my music, close my eyes and I’m there.

Where is your IDEAL place?

15 thoughts on “I know places!

  1. Your ideal place to write sounds amazing. I might have to join you there! Unfortunately I write at the kitchen table with cats meowing outside the door and 3 birds trying to peck the keyboard and landing on my head. I did escape to the beach once and sat under a tree with my laptop which was great.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. My first draft of my novel was written hunched over my electric cooker. My poor back still hasn’t recovered!
    My dream writing venue would have to be a cabin in the woods, a roaring fire and a mug of hot chocolate hmmm. As you know Cheryl that is my go to happy place 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A great take on places. I write all over the place – scribbling in a notebook as I travel, on my laptop when I’m home out by the pool or in my office. Here in my little flat in Spain I write in the lounge room in winter as it’s warmer or at a desk in my spare room during the warmer months.

    Like

Leave a Reply

